National History Competition Winners

Each year the Commonwealth Department of Education fund the National History Challenge. This national competition is open to students from Reception to Year 12 to submit entries in age and special categories. The students have the opportunity to present their work in a range of formats responding to the judging criteria and using the chosen theme for that year. In 2022 the theme was, ‘Causes and Consequences.’ It was terrific to see the students across a broad range of year levels at Loreto thoroughly enjoy the process of conducting research and preparing their entries.

The Following students were finalists in their age and/or special categories. Even reaching this standard is an excellent achievement:

  • Minny Chinnahong, Year 4
  • Grace Collins, Year 7
  • Lanah Baker, Year 7
  • Isabella Spagnoletti, Year 7
  • Alice Maycock, Year 10
  • Amber Hallett, Year 10
  • Lara Hamra, Year 11

This year Loreto College, Marryatville has witnessed our students excel at the highest standards yet again, which is a testimony to the critical thinking and research skills fostered by our gifted classroom teachers.

The following students were judged to be the best for their category in either South Australia or with two of the entries, the best in the nation.

  • Alyssa Reed, State Winner: Years 1-4 Category
  • Emma Choi, State Winner: Year 9 Category
  • Charlotte Hamilton, State Winner: Women’s History Category
  • Emily Tucker, State Winner: Australia’s Wartime Experiences Category
  • Karli Yip, State and National Winner: Australia and Asia Relations Category
  • Emma Choi, State and National Winner: Using Primary Sources Category

In total, Loreto College, Marryatville, had 12 finalists, 5 State Winners and 2 National Winners.

As national winners, Karli Yip and Emma Choi will be flying to Canberra on Saturday 26 November to join the other national winners for a three-day tour of Canberra culminating next Monday 28 November with the Presentation Ceremony at Parliament House Canberra where they will be presented with their national medals and prize money by the Federal Minister for Education, the Hon Jason Clare.

This website may capture information to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to this in accordance with our Privacy Statement. Privacy Policy
Read More